About Us

St Joseph Catholic Multi Academy Trust is a based in the Liverpool City Region with five primary and two secondary academies. As a united family of academies, we are fully aligned around our central mission to transform children’s lives by providing them with a world-class Catholic education. 

The Trust guarantees an excellent Catholic education to all families. Our children are entitled to access an ambitious curriculum and excellent teaching, which allow them to achieve and exceed national expectations regardless of their starting points.  

Everyone involved in St Joseph CMAT is highly committed to the pursuit of high achievement. We aim for all of our academies to be at least ‘Good’ with performance in the top 20% of schools nationally in all measures, particularly in Religious Education. Our robust educational strategy, which is informed by the highest-performing Trusts in the country, is designed to ensure that all children learn to read confidently and achieve well across the curriculum so that they can go on to use their God-given gifts to make the world a better place.  

St Joseph Catholic Multi Academy Trust has sponsor status. We are able to provide intensive support to schools who find themselves in a vulnerable position and onboard ‘Good’ or ‘Outstanding’ schools who choose to join as converter academies. For all academies in the Trust, there is a guarantee of high-quality professional development for all colleagues.  


During 2023-2024, the St Joseph family will continue to grow with the addition of Notre Dame College and St Francis Xavier’s College in Liverpool. This will mean that there are four secondary academies within the Trust.  

As part of its Multi Academy Trust strategy, the Archdiocese of Liverpool has identified a group of primary schools that are invited to join St Joseph CMAT over the coming years. This is an exciting opportunity to bring together primary and secondary schools. By working as a family of academies, we will ensure that every child benefits from an excellent Catholic education from the moment they start primary school to when they leave Sixth Form.  

CMAT 10 Schools List  

  • All Saints’ Catholic Voluntary Aided Primary School
  • Christ The King Catholic Primary School
  • Holy Cross Catholic Primary School
  • Holy Trinity Catholic Primary School
  • Much Woolton Catholic Primary School
  • Our Lady Immaculate Catholic Primary School
  • Our Lady of Good Help Catholic Primary School
  • Our Lady of the Assumption Catholic Primary School
  • Our Lady’s Bishop Eton Catholic Primary School
  • Sacred Heart Catholic Primary School and Nursery
  • St Anne’s Catholic Primary School
  • St Anthony of Padua Catholic Primary School
  • St Austin’s Catholic Primary School
  • St Charles’ Catholic Primary School
  • St Christopher’s Catholic Primary School
  • St Clare’s Catholic Primary School
  • St Finbar’s Catholic Primary School
  • St Gregory’s Catholic Primary School
  • St Hugh’s Catholic Primary School
  • St John’s Catholic Primary School
  • St Paschal Baylon Catholic Primary School
  • St Patrick’s Catholic Primary School
  • St Vincent de Paul Catholic Primary School
  • St Michael’s Catholic Primary School
  • Holy Family Catholic Primary School
  • St Nicholas Catholic Academy (already in St Joseph CMAT)
  • St Ambrose Catholic Academy (already in St Joseph CMAT)
  • The Trinity Catholic Academy (already in St Joseph CMAT)
Our Mission & Values preview image

Our Mission & Values

Our Mission & Values